15 million of European Funding for the East Border Region

11 March 2009

The East Border Region Committee hosted a successful launch of the European Union funded INTERREG IVA programme on Wednesday 11th March 2009 in the Ballymascanlon Hotel, Dundalk. Over 120 stakeholders including Local Authorities, Enterprise Agencies/ Boards, Colleges of Further Education and Chambers of Commerce gathered to hear how much funding East Border Region had successfully drawn down from the programme and how they could access some of the funds.

The East Border Region Committee has secured an initial allocation of €15 million from the INTERREG IVA Programme. Delegates at the launch were given an overview of the INTERREG IVA Programme in the East Border Region including proposed areas of activity.

Speaking at the Launch Chief Executive of EBR Ms Pamela Arthurs said “This funding will be awarded to truly regional cross border projects across the three themes of Enterprise, Tourism and Collaboration. The EBR Board will be instrumental in determining the requirements under each theme and will place notices inviting tenders in regional newspapers and the EU Journal over the coming weeks”.

Chairman Cllr John Hanna congratulated EBR on securing the funds “Our initial allocation under INTERREG IVA across the three themes of Enterprise, Tourism and Collaboration totals €15 million; this substantive allocation is by no means accidental but is reflective of the excellent track record and reputation which East Border Region has displayed since our involvement began with INTERREG I back in 1987”.

Mr Pat Colgan, Chief Executive of the Special EU Programmes Body thanked EBR for their hard work and commitment throughout the previous INTERREG IIA Programme and commented on looking forward to building on the excellent working relationship the Programmes Body have with EBR through the forthcoming INTERREG IVA Programme.

The East Border Region Committee were particularly pleased to welcome Mr Fernando Moniz, who works with the Territorial Co-operation Unit within the European Commission and travelled from Brussels to attend the launch. Mr Moniz commended EBR on the bottom up, partnership approach which the EBR Committee are renowned and of the great opportunities which exist for East Border Region to draw down funds from other European funding streams, “EBR have the ability to draw down funds from the other INTERREG Programmes such as the Transnational and Interregional programmes and thus increase linkages with other EU regions”.

Photo caption: (left to right) Ms Pamela Arthurs, Chief Executive EBR, Mr Fernando Moniz, INTERREG Desk Officer, EU Commission, Cllr John Hanna EBR Chairman, Cllr Gerald Mallon, EBR Vice Chair, Mr Tom Hanney, Joint Secretary N/S Ministerial Council and Mr Pat Colgan, Chief Executive SEUPB

EBR Multi Annual Plan

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council