The INTERREG IIIA Programme is an EU Community Initiative designed to support cross border co-operation, social cohesion and economic development between regions of the EU.  The Ireland/Northern Ireland Programme covers all of Northern Ireland and the six Border Counties of Ireland: Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Louth, Monaghan and Sligo. The Programme aims to address the economic and social disadvantage that can result from the existence of a border.

Throughout the lifetime of the INTERREG IIIA Programme (2000-2008) over €182 million has been invested in genuine cross border projects throughout the entire eligible area. This funding has been distributed through a number of different organisations such as Government departments working alongside locally developed Partnerships (Implementing Agents) on both sides of the border.

The Programme was split into 3 measures:

  • 1.1 Business and Economic Development
  • 1.2 The Knowledge Economy
  • 1.3 Human Resource Development and Skilling

The East Border Region INTERREG IIIA Partnership was appointed as an Implementing Agent to deliver approximately €25 million and as a result has successfully funded 38 genuine cross border projects across the East Border Region.

In order to depict the success of the 38 EBR INTERREG IIIA funded projects EBR have complied an informative publication entitled 'Sharing Excellence' and produced a DVD providing an overview of projects. 

Click here to view INTERREG IIIA Sharing Excellence Download

Click here to view the East Border Region INTERREG IIIA Partnership DVD

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council