East Border Region Delegation attend EU Conference in Kursk, Russia

22 September 2011

Representatives from the East Border Region travelled to the Cross Border region of Kursk, Russia from 20th - 24th September 2011 to attend the Annual Association of European Border Regions Conference which was celebrating its 40th year in existence.


The EBR who are part funded by the European Union through the INTERREG IVA Cross Border Programme found the conference extremely relevant and informative and were overwhelmed with the welcome and hospitality they received in Kursk. The delegation included Chairman Alderman Arnold Hatch, Vice Chairman Cllr Jackie Crowe and EBR Chief Executive Ms Pamela Arthurs. During the three day conference Chairman Hatch and Cllr Crowe presented the Governor and Vice Governor of the Kursk Region with corporate plaques from their respective Councils as tokens of appreciation.   


During this year's conference President of AEBR Mr Karl-Heinz Lambertz spoke of the increased importance and recognition of cross border co-operation across the European Union Institutions "Commissioner Hahn is very pleased with the progress of cross border co-operation, however it is important that we as an Association stay at the forefront and ensure funds are available for enhanced cross border working post 2013".


EBR Chairman Alderman Arnold Hatch welcomed the collective voice the AEBR represents "The strength of the AEBR cannot be under estimated, as border Regions we all face common challenges such as access to public services, employment and education. It is in coming together that we can have our collective voice heard in Europe and through greater levels of EU regional co-operation we can help to alleviate the worst effects of the recession".


The Association of European Border Regions (AEBR) was formed in 1971 and since that time it has been the main forum for learning and the exchange of experience between border regions in a European Union which has expanded very considerably in recent years. AEBR plays an important role in influencing the European Commission in respect of cross border co-operation and EU policy. East Border Region has been an active member of AEBR since 1991 and was delighted to host the Annual Conference last year which brought over 250 European visitors into our region.

Picture above: (left to right)East Border Region Chairman Alderman Arnold Hatch, President of AEBR Mr Karl-Heinz Lambertz, Vice Chair of EBR Cllr Jackie Crowe and EBR CEO Ms Pamela Arthurs pictured at the 40th Annual Association of European Border Region (AEBR) Conference in Kursk, Russia

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council