East Border Region Ltd Secure 15 million in European Funding

17 April 2012

The Chairman of the East Border Region was delighted to announce the total amount of INTERREG IVA Funding which has been allocated to the Organisation to its Members at the quarterly Forum meeting held on Tuesday 17th April in the Canal Court Hotel, Newry.

East Border Region is a Local Authority Led Cross Border Organisation representing ten Local Authorities (three in the Republic of Ireland and seven in Northern Ireland) and is part funded through the European Union's INTERREG IVA Programme.

A total of €15.2 million of INTERREG IVA funding has been secured across a total of twelve projects ranging from Tourism, Enterprise development and Environment based projects. In addition a total of 38 new jobs have also been generated.

Chairman of East Border Region Councillor Jackie Crowe welcomed the much needed investment into the Region, "I am delighted to be announcing our substantive allocation of €15.2 million under the INTERREG IVA Programme. Given the current economic climate this funding will make a real impact in the Region and will help to revive the economy in many of our Border towns and villages.

This substantive allocation is by no means accidental but is reflective of the excellent track record and reputation which East Border Region has displayed since our involvement began with INTERREG I back in 1987. I would like to take this opportunity to pay tribute to the Officers of each of our ten Local Authorities and the staff of EBR for their hard work and determination in working through the long and arduous INTERREG IVA approval process".

Speaking at the Forum meeting Chief Executive of EBR Ms Pamela Arthurs said "Given that this programme has been fraught with difficulties and delays it is uplifting to see that we have endured and are now in a position to do what we do best - deliver for the people of our Region". 

Ms Arthurs also stated that employment opportunities for project staff and contract work specific to each of the projects will be advertised in press in the coming weeks. For more information on the work of East Border Region and a detailed breakdown on each of the projects please visit our website at

Pictured Above: from left to right Cllr Eamon O'Neill Vice Chair of EBR, Ms Pamela Arthurs Chief Executive and Cllr Jackie Crowe Chairman of EBR.

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council