East Border Region Ltd host Annual General Meeting

7 December 2011

At its Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 7th December 2011, in Armagh City Hotel, the East Border Region Board were delighted to welcome Mr Martin Guillermo, Secretary General of the Association of European Border Regions (AEBR) as Keynote speaker.

The EBR is a cross border local authority led Organisation who are part-financed by the European Union's European Regional Development Fund through the INTERREG IVA Cross-border Programme. This programme is managed by the Special EU Programmes Body.

Speaking at the conference Mr Guillermo gave a brief overview of the work of the AEBR and highlighted the common challenges that all Border Regions across Europe are facing. He referred to the recent work of the Association in lobbying for a more decentralised and less bureaucratic INTERREG V Programme to allow for a more streamlined project approval process.

Mr Guillermo also welcomed EBR's involvement in other funding streams, "I am delighted that EBR are taking part in a project proposal which we have developed under the INTERREG IVB Programme. This is a new field for all of us but in today's challenging economic times I feel it is important for us to access all funding avenues possible".

Ms Pamela Arthurs, Chief Executive of EBR provided members with an overview of East Border Region activities over the past year which included the roll out of a number of projects under the INTERREG IVA Programme. Ms Arthurs highlighted the difficulties which EBR have experienced during the year due to the heavily bureaucratic INTERREG IVA approval process. All present at the meeting were in agreement to push forward with plans to lobby in relation to speedy roll out of the remaining EBR projects currently in the approval system.

The East Border Region Board appointed Cllr Jackie Crowe, Monaghan County Council as Chairman for the incoming year while Cllr Gerald Mallon from Armagh City and District Council and Councillor Eamon O'Neill from Down District Council were elected as Vice-Chairs.

Speaking at the Annual General Meeting Cllr Crowe stated that he was delighted and honoured to accept the position of Chairperson of the East Border Region Board.  He paid tribute to the outgoing Chair, Alderman Arnold Hatch and stated that he hoped that he could emulate his predecessors' achievements.

The East Border Region Board is a local authority led organisation comprising ten member councils, Counties Louth, Meath and Monaghan, Newry and Mourne, Down and Banbridge Districts, Armagh City and District, Craigavon, Ards and North Down Boroughs. In recent years the Board has established itself as being at the forefront of cross border economic development. In the incoming year the Board will be focussing on the continued roll out of funding in the region through the INTERREG IVA Programme, lobbying on the framework of the INTERREG VA Programme and developing our links with our colleagues in Europe.

 Pictured Above (from left to right): Cllr Gerald Mallon Vice Chair EBR, Mr Martin Guillermo Secretary General AEBR, Cllr Jackie Crowe Chairman EBR, Ms Pamela Arthurs Chief Executive EBR and Cllr Eamon O'Neill Vice Chair EBR pictured at the EBR Annual General Meeting.


  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council