East Border Region Ltd visit new Monaghan Fire Station

20 January 2012

Members of the East Border Region Energy Efficiency and Micro Generation (EEMG) Project held their monthly steering group meeting at the offices of the newly opened Monaghan Fire Station on Friday 20th January 2012. Members were delighted to be the first group to use the facilities and received a warm welcome from the Stations Senior Fire Officer, Mr Dermot Brannigan.

The EEMG Project is a cross border initiative, funded by the INTERREG IVA Cross Border Programme and managed by the ten Member Local Authorities of East Border Region.

The primary aim of the project is to enhance the sustainability of Local Authorities buildings and demonstrate how it is possible to reduce the Regions reliance on fossil fuels and consequently deliver significant reductions in CO2 emissions.

The Local Authorities have selected five of their most energy hungry buildings, fifty buildings in total, to undergo detailed energy audits. From the audit findings eight buildings will be selected to undergo energy upgrade works, with the goal to achieve a 25% reduction in energy costs and carbon emissions.

Once energy upgrade works have been completed in the eight selected buildings, visitor experience centres will be established to showcase best practice and the renewable technologies most suited to the local climate to local SME's and homeowners alike. A web portal,, and other social media outlets such as Facebook and twitter have been set up, to allow the public to follow project progress. The project commenced in May 2011 with energy audits currently underway.

Chairman of East Border Region Cllr Jackie Crowe welcomed this innovative project, "Given today's challenging economic climate this is an extremely worthwhile project in that it will afford Local Authorities to make energy savings across their buildings and through the detailed monitoring of the renewable technologies will provide much needed evidence on the success of the technologies used. I wish the Project Steering Group well and look forward to the outcome of the surveys".  

Pictured: (L-R) Sharon Digby, East Border Region, Pól Ó Cléirigh, Monaghan County Council, Dermot Brannigan, Fire Officer, Monaghan County Council, Bernadette McArdle, Lough County Council and Paula O'Gorman, Craigavon Borough Council. Behind are (L-R) Kevin Fitzsimons, Banbridge District Council, Maureen Corr, East Border Region, Raymond Haughey, East Border Region, Aidan Mallon, Armagh City and District Council, Joseph Birt, Down District Council, Ciaran Óg Mussen, Newry and Mourne District Council, Brian Crowe, East Border Region, Lara Fagan, Meath County Council and Richard McCracken, North Down Borough Council.

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council