East Border Region Members back Narrow Water Bridge Project

29 September 2011

East Border Region held its quarterly Members Forum meeting on Thursday 29th September 2011 in the Marine Court Hotel, Bangor. During the Forum which comprises 60 Elected Members and is part funded through the European Union's INTERREG IVA Cross Border Programme members learned of current developments in the Narrow Water Bridge proposal from Mr Gerry Kelly, Senior Engineer from Louth County Council. Members were also delighted to learn of EBR's recently approved INTERREG IVA projects and to receive an update from the EBR Action for Biodiversity project.

Mr Gerry Kelly outlined progress to date of the Narrow Water Bridge project, the recommended Bridge design and the way forward for the €17.7 million project which will bring increased tourism and socio-economic benefits as well as being the first iconic bridge linking North and South. Mr Kelly asked members to champion the project, help push it up the political agenda and to aid the draw down of as much funding as possible for such a worthwhile project.

Chairman Alderman A Hatch thanked Mr Kelly for his presentation and assured him that the project had the backing of the East Border Region Forum "we will endeavour to assist in any way that we can to ensure the project progresses and will investigate the possibility of sourcing INTERREG IVA funding to ensure this vital cross border project becomes a reality".

Ms Pamela Arthurs, Chief Executive of East Border Region provided members with an update in relation to the recent approval of five of East Border Region's INTERREG IVA projects which will result in over €6.2 million of much needed investment into the region. Projects approved include the EBR Tourism Development Plan and four Cluster and Network projects bringing increased employment and investment into the region.

Officers from the EBR Action for Biodiversity project which aims to increase our awareness on Biodiversity issues through a detailed communication campaign and a range of local and regional projects presented members with an outline of their progress to date. Mr Dave Curtin, Ms Rosemary Hamilton and former Government Minister Mr Noel Dempsey of Dave Curtin PR presented members with an overview of the projects Communication Strategy which is nearing completion.

During the Forum members were also given an overview of the newly revamped East Border Region website - which contains a Members Log in area and download space for EBR digital media. Log onto our website to access more information on East Border Region activity and funded projects.

Photo Caption: (left to right) Ms C Brennan Action for Biodiversity Officer, Mr R Murray Action for Biodiversity Officer, Mr D Curtin Curtin PR, Ald A Hatch EBR Chairman, Ms R Hamilton Curtin PR, Mr N Dempsey Curtin PR, Cllr J Crowe EBR Vice Chair and Ms A McSherry Action for Biodiversity Officer pictured with the Action for Biodiversity Communications Strategy at the East Border Region Members Forum meeting.

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council