East Border Region announces Narrow Water Bridge Approval

28 May 2013

Press Release.  Narrow Water Bridge.

40 years in the making!

The Local Authority led cross border organisation East Border Region is lead partner in the Narrow Water Bridge Project and, following the announcement that EU INTERREG funding has been approved, will shortly be issued with a Letter of Offer to the value of €17.4million by SEUPB to build the bridge. 

The Chairman of East Border Region, Councillor Gerald Mallon has welcomed the decision by Minister Wilson to approve the Narrow Water Bridge Project. 

“The Narrow Water Bridge is a genuinely symbolic cross border project providing the first bridge linking Ireland and Northern Ireland and will provide a catalyst for both Economic development and Tourism within the region. The Bridge development will provide much needed jobs in the construction sector in the short term and will undoubtedly enhance the tourism potential of the region as it acts as a gateway to the Mournes and Cooley Mountains.  It is an honour for me as Chair of East Border Region to oversee the implementation of this project which will leave a lasting legacy across the region’


Now that funding has been secured work on the development of the Bridge will begin immediately and will be completed by June 2015. East Border Region Ltd, as Lead Partner in the project will be responsible for financial management and adherence to INTERREG regulations whilst Louth County Council as Lead Council will be responsible for building the Bridge and Newry and Mourne District Council as project partner will be integral in the delivery of the overall project. 



Press Contact:

Ms Pamela Arthurs

Chief Executive

East Border Region

Unit 2, Monaghan Court

Monaghan Street


BT35 6BH


Tel:   028 3025 2684 /048 3025 2684

Mobile: 07811328260

Fax: 028 3025 2685 /048 3025 2685




Notes to Editor:




The Special EU Programmes Body is a North/South Implementation Body sponsored by the Department of Finance and Personnel in Northern Ireland and the Department of Finance in Ireland. It is responsible for managing two EU Structural Funds Programmes PEACE III and INTERREG IV designed to enhance cross border co-operation, promote reconciliation and create a more peaceful and prosperous society. The Programmes operate within clearly defined areas including Northern Ireland, the Border Region of Ireland and Western Scotl

The INTERREG IVA 2007-2013 Programme is worth €256 million and aims to address the economic and social problems which result from the existence of borders. It has two distinct priority measures to create co-operation for a more prosperous and sustainable cross border region.


For more information on the SEUPB please visit



About EBR:


East Border Region Ltd (EBR) is a Local Authority led organisation which comprises ten Local Authorities namely; Newry and Mourne, Down and Banbridge District Councils, Armagh City and District Council, Craigavon, Ards and North Down Borough Councils in Northern Ireland and Louth, Monaghan and Meath County Councils in the Republic Of Ireland.


EBR was established in 1976 to promote innovative, cross border economic development in the areas of agriculture, Industry, Commerce and Tourism and to improve the living conditions and employment prospects of those living in the region. EBR was awarded the role of Implementing Body in the Ireland/Northern Ireland INTERREG IIIA Programme 2000-2006 and as a result successfully implemented approximately €25 million to genuine cross border projects across the region. At present EBR has been successful in securing approximately €15 million from the INTERREG IVA Programme. EBR is a truly democratic, representative, transparent, multi skilled cross border organisation.


For more information on EBR please visit


  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council