East Border Region host AGM

15 December 2010

At its Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 15th December 2010, in the Canal Court Hotel, Newry the East Border Region Board were delighted to welcome Mr Gerry Mulligan from the N.I. Executive Office in Brussels and Mr Robert Collins from the Irish Regions Office, Brussels as Keynote speakers.

The EBR is a cross border local authority led Organisation who are part-financed by the European Union’s European Regional Development Fund through the INTERREG IVA Cross-border Programme. This programme is managed by the Special EU Programmes Body.

Speaking at the conference Mr Mulligan outlined the role of the N.I. Executive Office in Brussels and outlined how East Border Region can raise their profile in Europe and get involved in key consultations and policy decisions. Mr Collins also alluded to the opportunities for EBR to get actively involved at the European stage and referred to the need to look beyond traditional EU Programmes for future funding support.

Ms Pamela Arthurs, Chief Executive of EBR provided members with an overview of East Border Region activities over the past year which included the commencement of the roll out of the INTERREG IVA Programme and EBR Strategy. Ms Arthurs also highlighted the success of the recent Association of European Border Regions Conference which EBR hosted earlier in the year and seen over 250 European visitors visit our region for the three day conference.

The East Border Region Board appointed Alderman Arnold Hatch, Craigavon Borough Council as Chairman for the incoming year while Cllr Jackie Crowe from Monaghan County Council and Councillor John Feehan from Newry and Mourne District Council were elected as Vice-Chairs.

Speaking at the Annual General Meeting Alderman Hatch stated that he was delighted and honoured to accept the position of Chairperson of the East Border Region Board. He paid tribute to the outgoing Chair, Cllr John Farrelly and stated that he hoped that he could emulate his predecessors’ achievements.

The East Border Region Board is a local authority led organisation comprising ten member councils, Counties Louth, Meath and Monaghan, Newry and Mourne, Down and Banbridge Districts, Armagh City and District, Craigavon, Ards and North Down Boroughs. In recent years the Board has established itself as being at the forefront of cross border economic development. In the incoming year the Board will be focussing on the continued roll out of funding in the region through the INTERREG IVA Programme and developing our links with our colleagues in Brussels.

Photo Caption (left to right): Cllr John Feehan, Vice Chair EBR, Cllr John Farrelly, Outgoing Chair EBR, Ald Arnold Hatch, 2011 Chairman of EBR, Mr Pat Colgan, Chief Executive SEUPB, Cllr Jackie Crowe, Vice Chair EBR, Mr Robert Collins, Head of Office, Irish Regions Office Brussels and Mr Gerry Mulligan, Head of N.I. Executive Office, Brussels.

Annual Report 2009

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council