East Border Region launch Strategic Plan 2008-2011 at Annual General Meeting and Members Conference

21 November 2008

The East Border Region Committee hosted its Annual Members Conference and AGM on Thursday 20th and Friday 21st November 2008, in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Dundalk. The Committee were delighted to welcome Minister of State, Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government (R.O.I) Mr Micheal Kitt as Keynote speaker.

The Minister highly commended the sterling work which the Committee has been doing over the past thirty two years “The East Border Region has provided an outstanding example of cross border co-operation in practice. The Region has provided leadership, example and ambition in equal measure. The East Border Region’s Multi Annual Plan for the INTERREG IVA Programme demonstrates a great deal of strategic thought and preparation. The focus on balanced and sustainable development and in particular environmental sustainability greatly enhances the region for its citizens”.

The Minister also officially launched the East Border Region Strategic Plan 2008-2011. This Strategic Plan clearly sets out the aims and objectives of EBR over the next number of years through not only the role out of the INTERREG IVA Programme but focussing on the wider lobbying role of EBR and involvement in the INTERREG IVB and IVC Programmes. The mantra of the strategy ‘promoting the balanced and sustainable development of the cross border region’ will be the key focus for East Border Region in the coming years.

The East Border Region Committee appointed Councillor Cllr John Hanna, Banbridge District Council as Chairman for the incoming year and Councillors Gerard Mallon and Cllr Gary Carville from Armagh City and District Council and Monaghan County Council respectively were elected as Vice-Chairs.

Speaking at the Annual General Meeting Councillor Hanna said that he was delighted and honoured to accept the position of Chairperson of the East Border Region Committee. He paid tribute to the outgoing Chair Cllr Terry Brennan and hoped that he could emulate his predecessors’ achievements.

Speaking at the conference Mrs Pamela Arthurs, Chief Executive Officer, provided members with a visual overview of the East Border Region Committee depicted through the successes of the EBR INTERREG IIIA Programme and the wider role of the East Border Region Committee.

Ms Arthurs welcomed Members of the other four Local Authority Groups (ICBAN, North West Region Cross Border Group, COMET and North East Partnership) to the conference and stated the importance of the five groups working collectively for the benefit of all our Regions, “together as a collective force we all can achieve so much more be it lobbying Government Departments or our MEPs, sharing best practice or specialisms or benefiting from economies of scale”.

The conference drew to a close after a successful and informative two days. During the conference Members enjoyed presentations from the Joint Secretaries of the North/South Ministerial Council Ms Mary Bunting and Mr Tom Hanney, Mr Howard Keery SEUPB, Mr Harry O’Connor and Mr Maurice Maxwell EU Commission Representation in Ireland and Northern Ireland respectively.

Photo caption 1 (from left to right): - Cllr Terry Brennan, Outgoing Chair EBR, Ms Pamela Arthurs CEO and Minister Micheal Kitt, Minister of State, Dept. of Environment, Heritage and Local Government

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council