East Border Region welcomes Albanian Delegation

7 July 2011

Elected Members from the East Border Region were delighted to welcome a group of 13 senior officials from the Albanian Government to Newry today (5th July 2011) as part of a 4 day study visit.    The delegation who have responsibility for Albania’s accession to the EU  were visiting East Border Region to learn about the systems of management and implementation of EU funding in Ireland/Northern Ireland and to see the impact EU funding has had on Ireland/Northern Ireland.

The delegation which comprised Deputy Ministers, Personal Advisors to the Albanian Prime Minister and Senior Government Officials were welcomed by East Border Region Chairman Alderman Arnold Hatch who also briefed them on East Border Region’s experience of EU funding.

“Without doubt I can tell you that EU funding has been good to us in Ireland/Northern Ireland. Our key programmes to promote cross border development have been the INTERREG and PEACE Programmes. EU funding is bureaucratic but the cumbersome paperwork and monitoring is far outweighed by the benefits this funding brings to our economy.

East Border Region has been involved in EU funding since the first Cross Border INTERREG Programme in 1989 and as a result of working collaboratively with a range of stakeholders such as Local Authorities, Third level Education Institutes, Enterprise Agencies/Boards, Chambers of Commerce, Private Sector and Community Groups have successfully delivered over €25 million in EU funding to date for the benefit of the people of our region.

Chief Executive of East Border Region Ms Pamela Arthurs provided an overview of East Border Region’s history in relation to each of the INTERREG Programmes to date and gave the delegation an insight into the management and implementation of EU funds.

After networking with East Border Region members the delegation departed for Dublin were they were due to meet Dublin City Council.

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council