East Border Region welcomes Planning Approval, Narrow Water Bridge

12 October 2012

The Chairman of EBR, Cllr Jackie Crowe, has announced his delight that Minister Attwood has granted planning permission for the Narrow Water Bridge Project.  He expressed his hope that An Bord Pleanala will shortly follow suit and grant planning permission for the southern element of the project.

East Border Region is a local authority led grouping comprising ten councils, 7 in N Ireland and 3 in Republic of Ireland.  The organisation was formed in 1976 by Newry and Mourne District Council, Louth County Council and Monaghan County Council with the aim of promoting cross border economic development which has mutual benefit for the people of the region.  The Narrow Water Bridge was first mooted at a meeting of EBR in 1976 and has been promoted by the organisation since that time. (see attached Press Article Newry Reporter 1976)

Whilst acknowledging the significance of the Planning Approval, Cllr Crowe also highlighted the requirement for the project to secure €17.3million from the European Union INTERREG IVA Programme in order to actually build the bridge.  East Border Region Ltd is lead partner in the funding application to SEUPB with Louth County Council as Lead Council and Newry and Mourne District Council as project partner.  The decision will be made by the SEUPB on 24th October 2012.

Cllr Jackie Crowe Chairman of EBR welcomed today's planning announcement "The Narrow Water Bridge is a genuinely cross border project which fully meets the aims and objectives of the Ireland/N Ireland INTERREG IVA Programme. Notwithstanding the huge boost to economic development and tourism in the region, the Bridge project symbolises the progress which has been made in respect of the Peace Process.  I urge SEUPB to help realise this iconic cross border project."

Cllr Crowe ended by paying tribute to all those past and present elected members of East Border Region who have worked tirelessly to promote the Narrow Water Bridge project.

  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council