The new INTERREG Programme for 2014-2020 is one of 60 programmes across the European Union designed to promote greater levels of cross-border co-operation. Northern Ireland, the Border Region of Ireland and Western Scotland share a number of common features with other border areas across Europe where developmental problems are exacerbated by the existence of borders.

Borders can distort infrastructure and communication networks resulting in reduced economic development and different policy approaches which hinder joined-up service delivery. The new INTERREG Programme has been designed to address many of these issues in order to promote greater economic, social and territorial cohesion across the region. The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) contribution to the Programme is €240m.   

In accordance with the need to demonstrate a higher degree of concentration within the 2014-2020 programming period, the new INTERREG Programme has four key areas of focus. 

The INTERREG Programme has four key priority areas. Please click on links on left hand side for more info.  



  • Monaghan
  • LCC
  • MCC
  • Newry, Mourne and Down District Council
  • Ards and North Down Borough Council
  • Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council