East Border Region Ltd host Albanian Government delegation

28th Jul, 2014

East Border Region Ltd host Albanian Government delegation

East Border Region Ltd were delighted to host a study visit for 18 representatives from the Albanian government from 30th June to 4th July. Delegates comprised Minster of State for Local Issues, Mr Bledar Cuci, Members of the Albanian Parliament and Senior Government Officials.

The purpose of the study visit was in relation to the key priority of the new Government of Albania in achieving Administrative and Territorial Reform in the area of decentralisation of local government. The delegation chose Ireland as their focal point as Ireland is more advanced compared to Albania with designing and implementation of Territorial and Administrative reform.

Ireland also has similarities to Albania in relation to population and country size and as a result of the study visit delegates gained a better insight and knowledge of the Irish experience in dealing with territorial and administrative reform issues at central and local level; established structures; process design, dealing with resistance and ways of mitigation.

During the four day visit delegates met with R.O.I. Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government Mr Phil Hogan, T.D., the Cathaoirleach and Chief Executive of Kilkenny County Council and with Senior Officials from Limerick and Tipperary County Councils who provided them with an overview of reform from both an urban and rural County perspective.

Delegates also met with R.O.I. Minister of State Mr Pascal O’Donohue and members of the EU Committee in Leinster House.  On the final day of the visit delegates learned of the reform process from the perspective of border Counties with presentations from Louth County Council and neighbouring Newry and Mourne District Council. This also provided them with an insight into the review of public administration in Northern Ireland.

Pictured above: Minister Cuci, Minister of State for Local Issues, delegation members, Cathaoirleach of Louth County Council Cllr Oliver Tully, Mr Michael Curran, Director Louth County Council and Ms Pamela Arthurs Chief Executive EBR Pictured at Louth County Council.

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up below to receive monthly newsletters.

Read our privacy policy for more info.