East Border Region host Annual General Meeting

07th Dec, 2018

East Border Region host Annual General Meeting

At its Annual General Meeting held on Friday 7th December 2018, in the Four Seasons Hotel, Monaghan, East Border Region (EBR) were delighted to appoint Cllr Aidan Campbell from Monaghan County Council as Chairman for the incoming year.

East Border Region is a Local Authority led organisation comprising six-member Local Authorities, Monaghan, Louth and Meath County Councils in the Republic of Ireland and Newry, Mourne and Down District Council, Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon and Ards & North Down Borough Councils in Northern Ireland.

East Border Region has vast experience in both the delivery and financial management of EU INTERREG Programmes since the INTERREG IIIA Programme 2000-2006. In the current INTERREG VA Programme EBR is responsible for the financial management of eight projects totalling €91 million. Due to the nature of the INTERREG VA Programme EBR has partnered with external Organisations such as Intertrade Ireland, NI Water, Irish Water and Ulster University in the delivery of these cross-border projects.

EBR have also submitted a €9 million INTERREG VA project application under an Electric Vehicle call. This project will see the installation of 73 rapid charge points across the eligible area. In addition, the project will comprise an extensive publicity and promotion campaign. EBR are delighted to the be lead partner on this exciting and innovative project and look forward to the successful roll out in 2019.

Speaking at the AGM Cllr Campbell stated that he was delighted and honoured to accept the position of Chairman.  He paid tribute to the outgoing Chair, Alderman Jim Fletcher and stated that he hoped that he could emulate his predecessors’ achievements. “I look forward to a busy and productive year as Chairman, with the continued roll out of the INTERREG VA projects coupled with the challenges that Brexit poses. EBR in conjunction with the Border Corridor Councils have stepped up to the plate and taken a lead role in championing the needs of the cross-border region in Dublin and Westminster and I fully intend to continue in this vain”.

Delegates at the AGM received presentations on two of the eight INTERREG projects which EBR are involved in – Co Innovate – a SMEs and Micro Business support programme and CPM (Centre of Personalised Medicine) a research-based project aiming to improve diagnostic accuracy in a wide variety of diseases.

Mr Colin Stutt, Consultant delivered a presentation focusing on the challenges and opportunities for EBR as an organisation going forward and Ms Pamela Arthurs, Chief Executive of EBR highlighted the importance of EBR continuing to be proactive in championing the needs of our cross-border region.

The East Border Region Board also appointed Alderman Arnold Hatch from Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council as Vice Chair for the incoming year.

In the incoming year the Board will be focussing on the continued roll out of EU funding in the region through the INTERREG VA Programme and our continued focus to promote sustainable, cross border economic development which benefits the citizens of the region.

Pictured left to right: Ms Pamela Arthurs, CEO East Border Region, Cllr Aidan Campbell, Chairman of East Border Region 2019 from Monaghan County Council and Ald Arnold Hatch, Vice Chair of East Border Region 2019 from Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council.

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up below to receive monthly newsletters.

Read our privacy policy for more info.