East Border Region traces its history from 1976 when Newry and Mourne District Council and Louth County Council first met to discuss a bridge link between Omeath in County Louth and Warrenpoint in County Down.

Other issues of common concern were aired at this meeting and it was agreed that both councils would meet on a regular basis to pursue these matters. Both Down District Council and Monaghan County Council joined the committee in 1978 and it officially became known as the East Border Region Committee.

Since that time the Committee has grown and developed. In the late 1990’s, Banbridge District Council and Craigavon Borough Council and in 2003 and 2005 Ards Borough Council and Armagh City and District Council respectively became members. Newest additions have been Meath County Council and North Down Borough Council in 2007.
In 2009 the East Border Region Committee became known as East Border Region Ltd.

East Border Region enjoys a key role in cross border co-operation and is recognised at all levels as being at the forefront of regional cross border economic development.

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up below to receive monthly newsletters.

Read our privacy policy for more info.